The 2017 Entry Deadline has been extended to Monday May 29 at 5 PM!!

You can enter Online on this Website.

      Click on REGISTRATION


The 2017 Romain Buick Men's Evansville Senior City Golf Championship will be contested over 36 holes the first full weekend of June. Round one will take place Saturday, June 3th at John H. Fendrich Golf Course. The tournament will conclude on Sunday, June 4th at Helfrich Hills Golf Gourse. The Men's Senior City Golf Championship is open to competitors age 50 and up as of June 3, 2017 and includes five age divisions. Registration deadline is Monday, May 29, 2017 at 5:00p.m.

A familiar scene played out Sunday at Fendrich Golf Course: Robin Rubrecht hoisted the Romain Buick Senior City Golf Championship trophy.

"Don't worry about getting a picture," joked third-place finisher Dave Bates. "We can use one from the last couple of years."

Rubrecht became the first player in the tournament's 15-year history to three-peat and is the first four-time champion. He also won in 2010.

But this one was different. Certainly more dramatic.

Rubrecht, 62, edged 57-year-old George Nord on the second playoff hole after both golfers traded clutch shots down the stretch. They tied at 2-under 139 for the 36-hole tournament, which held its first round Saturday at Helfrich Hills Golf Course.

Bates finished at 2-over 143 and Troy Schreiber placed fourth at 144.

The final-group fireworks began on the 17th hole, after Rubrecht bogeyed No. 16 to decrease his lead to one shot. Both players drove the green on 17 — a 278-yard par 4.

Nord poured in a 45-foot putt for eagle, while Rubrecht missed a 15-footer and settled for birdie. That tied the pair at 1-under heading to No. 18.

"I was just hanging close to Robin," Nord said. "We were making pars basically and I said, 'I got to do something here.'"

Both players missed the fairway on the par-4 18th. Nord went left and had to carry his second shot over a tree to leave it 15 feet from the cup. Rubrecht went right and took the opposite route with his approach shot, punching it beneath a tree and running it to 6 feet above the hole.

"It was not a hard shot because I had plenty of green to work with and I felt comfortable with the shot," Rubrecht said. "A lot of it comes with experience and practice. Just being in this position before, you don't get too excited and ramped up, and you're able to hit the shot that you want to hit."

Rubrecht appeared to be in better position, but Nord canned his 15-foot birdie putt to put the pressure back on Rubrecht. He calmly buried the putt.

"I'm glad that it ended the way it did as far as the (18th) hole," he said. "Last year I lost the (Indiana Senior Amateur Championship) in the same kind of way.

"A guy chipped in on a playoff hole for birdie and I missed a 6-footer, so I thought about that on 18. 'I'm not gonna do that.' I felt comfortable with the putt."

Nord had his best opportunity to win on the first playoff hole, but missed an 8-foot birdie chance. Both players recorded pars and moved on to the par-3 11th. Nord flubbed his tee shot short of the green and couldn't match Rubrecht's par.

"It was on line but I just left it a couple inches short," Nord said of his putt on the first playoff hole. "That was my opportunity to put Robin away."

Rubrecht said he plays tournament golf because he enjoys both competition and the preparation for competition. He couldn't ask for a better battle than he got Sunday.

"George played just such great golf today and it's a shame that there's got to be a second place in a case like this, but it was really a lot of fun," Rubrecht said.

"It was a good, fun last six holes," Nord said. "We both were shooting good golf."

2002:  Brad Coole

2003:  Dave DeLong

2004:  Dave DeLong

2005:  Joe Hahn

2006:  Paul Gentry

2007:  Dave DeLong

2008:  John Kaposta

2009:  Jim Cheaney

2010:  Robin Rubrecht

2011:  John  Kaposta

2012:  Tim Heath

2013:  Mike Finnin

2014:  Robin Rubrecht

2015:  Robin Rubrecht

2016Robin Rubrecht

Tournament Record
2015  --  134 (-7)  Robin RubrechtCourse Records2007  --  Helfrich GC  -- 65  (-6) -- Dave DeLong
2015  --  Fendrich GC  --  62  (-8) --  Robin Rubrecht
2007  --  McDonald GC  --  66  (-6)  --  Dave Bates

2009  --  Dave Ash  --  McDonald GC  --  #9
2005  --  Don Partridge  75  Helfrich GC
2009  --  Don Partridge  78  Fendrich GC
2014  --  Art Hall  75  Helfrich GC, 75  Fendrich GC
Don Shull  73  Fendrich GC
     2015  --  Don Shull  74 Fendrich GC, 74 Helfrich GC
2016  --  Don Shull  71 Fendrich GC